Negative can = Postive

A positive cool WordPress.com site

One will never know were there prince charming will be..

Leave a comment


Image

“One shoe can change your life.”
` Author unknown ‘

I have worked  for a well known bank for going on 21 years now, and I have risen among the ranks in my various array  of  jobs that I have held at the bank.  I started in the  mail room making my way up  the ladder  to present as a Senior Support Analyst.  In all I have held about 7 different jobs in the bank. Not to shabby. But along my path to climbing the corporate  ladder. I had one interesting interview for a scanning position that I will never ever forget. So my story goes like this:

Once upon a time there was a girl named  Cinderella ( me Kathy) wanted to apply for this great position at her job as a Scanning Rep.  Now  mind you Cinderella had no experience  in scanning and did not even know what a scanner was let alone if she could do the job from her wheelchair. So Cinderella did her homework  and got her resume updated and tried to research what a scanning position would entail.  Cinderella was confident enough to go though  with the interview. The day of the interview Cinderella made sure that her outfit was perfect to  impress  the employer.  She wore a pick shirt and sweater and she looked wonderful. Cinderella then went though with her possible interview questions and knew she could ace the interview with no problems. When it came time to go  into the interview, Cinderella was nervous as any would be interviewee would be. Cinderella name was called  were she  proceeded  to a small room were the interview for the job would take place. Cinderella employer then proceeded to ask the usual run of the mill questions such as;  what brings you in here today, why would you want to be a scanner, and what skills do you have to bring to this job. Cinderella felt she did wonderful and felt that they would  surely   hire her for the position. Except for one little thing she did not at all anticipate which was upon ending the interview Cinderella disability decided to kick in and be announced for all to see and that   was due to her Cerebel Palsy her right foot decided to go into a deep  spasm  therefore causing  one of her shoes to fall off her right foot. To Cinderella horror at this tragic event she thought how in the world  am I going to leave this interview with at least scraping up some dignity about me.  The employer then ended the interview on a very bright note and extended his hand in a handshake and said: Ms Cinderella it looks to me as though you are indeed an   independent minded women who really knows what she wants. The employer then  proceeded to open the door. Cinderella then said the only thing that came to her mind ; Well thank you so very much , but do you think you can help this independent  minded women put her shoe back on her foot you see it seems to have fallen off my foot”. The employer then looked down onto the floor and saw that the shoe had indeed fallen off my foot at  witch time he then looked up at Cinderella all the time  wanting  to laugh at what  had just occurred,  but knew that  he had to remained  ever so professional . The employer then  proceeded to put the shoe back onto Cinderella foot. Cinderella said thank you and he then open the door and Cinderella went out the door just almost in tears. Cinderella thought right there and then she had indeed ruined her chances for even being thought of being ever hired for the job.

The next morning going into work at the bank Cinderella was a bit late and was racing to get upstairs to her job before her manager came in. and as she was trying to hurry waiting for the elevator  she heard Cinderella Cinderella………. in between gobs of laughter . As Cinderella looked up she saw the three managers and one of those three managers were the person that interview Cinderella. They then ran over to Cinderella and told her she got the scanning job hands down. Cinderella was so very happy at witch time she hugged the manager and said in a humorous way: thank you prince charming for putting my shoe back on this foot. The manager then said after that interview how could I have not hired you. You see  Cinderella without realizing what you did you indeed turn out what could have been a very bad ending to an interview and you turn it all around to your advantage  with such grace and positiveness  I knew right there and then I wanted you for the position. Cinderella and her employer then lived happily ever after. The End.

So you see one shoe can indeed change your life.  🙂

Author: clancy119

I am a wife and mother of two grown boys. I am a passionate advocate for disabilities rights. I am a retired Senior Support Analyst for Bank of America. I love to read different quotes, and have a blog called "Quote Me". Words have great meaning to me. I also believe you have to have a positive attitude to get anywhere in life. That's why I have another blog called "Nagative Can =Positive". Hope you enjoy these two blogs

Leave a Reply

